Menu Close

Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening & Support Certification Training


If you are interested in a Standards training at your organization, please contact the California Family Resource Association (CFRA)



How can we work with families most effectively?

What does it mean to be a quality Family Strengthening and Support Program?

How can managers, direct service staff, and families work together to develop and sustain quality programs?


The nationally-adopted Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening & Support from the National Family Support Network are designed to be used by all Family Strengthening and Support stakeholders – public departments, foundations, community-based organizations, and families – as a tool for planning, providing, and assessing quality services. The vision is that their implementation
will help ensure that families are supported and strengthened through quality practice

Based on the Principles of Family Support Practice and the Strengthening Families Framework and its research-based evidence-informed 5 Protective Factors, they have created a common language across different kinds of Family Strengthening and Family Support programs such as Family Resource Centers, home visiting programs, and child development programs. 

This Certification Training details how the nationally-adopted Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening & Support can enhance work with families through focus on 5 areas of practice: Family Centeredness, Family Strengthening, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Community Strengthening, and Evaluation. Whether you are program staff setting up a new program or strengthening an existing one, or a funder developing or monitoring programs, the Standards provide a blueprint for implementing best practice. In follow-up surveys at 3 months and 9 months after the Certification Training, more than 91% of respondents indicated that the Standards enhanced their Program’s work with families.

Participants from Programs are highly encouraged to come as teams with Executive Directors, Managers, Coordinators, and Direct Service Staff, as each has a key role to play in implementing the Standards effectively.  Participants who complete the full training and pass the open-book quiz will receive a certificate from the National Family Support Network that is valid for two years. 


Debbie is a Clinical Social Worker and has worked in clinical practice as well as community organizing and program development. Her advocacy roles include currently being a member of the Leadership team for Protective Factors for Utah Families, a CASA, Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Advocate, Board Member of the Utah Domestic Violence Coalition, Commission Member on the Utah State Commission on Child Welfare Improvement and local Northern Utah Region Quality Improvement Committee. She has also worked in developing a Family Support Specialist Program with the Davis Community Learning Center, Davis School District and has numerous ongoing ties with California as a past Director of a Family Resource Center and Family Justice Center in East San Diego. She is a Certified Trainer on the on the Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening and Support, Certified Trainer on the 5 Protective Factors, and a Trainer on the Legislative Standards for California Supervised Visitation Service Providers. She is married and has 4 children, 2 in-law children and 4 perfect grandchildren.


As a Training Coordinator for CalTrin, Jessica’s primary goal is to ensure staff, administrators, and stakeholders working in child abuse prevention services have access to quality training and resources. Her work in the area of Training and Development has focused on designing, implementing, and facilitating engaging and interactive learning programs. Jessica has a passion for public speaking, and creating a safe and engaging learning environment.






Debbie Comstock, LCSW

Protective Factors for Utah Families



 Jessica Mattly, MBA

CalTrin Training Coordinator